The International Federation for Structural Concrete - fib 29 Sept. 2023, Chania, Crete, Greece finalised during the Presidium on 23 to 24 February 2024 in Lausanne

fib Memorandum of Chania

based on the discussions during celebration of the 25th anniversary of **fib** as well as the

70th anniversary of CEB and 71st anniversary of FIP

The *fib* Presidents – all past Presidents of *fib*, along with the current *fib* President – as well as the *fib* Presidium members, had a special meeting exclusively dedicated to the 25th anniversary of the *fib* in Chania, Crete, Greece, to review the past and present achievements and future challenges of the *fib* (formerly CEB and FIP).

The fib emphasises

efforts for high quality and high technical value in the design, the construction and the sustainable maintenance (or preservation) of concrete structures, considering optimal selections of materials, safety, serviceability, reliability, sustainability, durability, service life, carbon neutrality, and performance-based requirements.

The fib promotes

structural concrete and develops technical, economical, aesthetic, and environmental guidance for the performance of concrete constructions. The main products of the *fib* are the Model Codes (MC1978, MC1990, MC2010, MC2020, etc.), *fib* Bulletins, guidance documents, and the Structural Concrete Journal.

The fib intends to serve

all practical needs for the design of concrete structures in our rapidly changing world. By its **ethos**, the *fib* is a major contributor to concrete science and technology, serving engineers as well as all who make use of concrete structures.

The fib is open

to **supporting technical development** and innovations in codification as well as in applications, considering the most recent achievements in new materials, new technologies, carbon neutrality, digitalisation, automation, and Artificial Intelligence (AI), etc.

The fib collaborates

with other associations and standardisation institutes in many fields to achieve common practices for wider use. The results of our efforts should be developed through collaboration between academia and practice. The transfer of knowledge between scientists, designers, and authorities is fundamental. Collaborations across various fields of engineering and architecture are welcomed.

The fib is considered to be a very efficient working platform

that is **based on collegial communication** in a positive atmosphere. Design codes and standards of the *fib* are developed on a consensus basis by member countries of the *fib* originating from five continents. The work in the *fib* is based exclusively on engineering without political or religious influence.

The fib supports recognition

for **examples of structural design and optimal material** use in the work of civil and structural engineers of high value. This may include, for example, national or UNESCO listings or on-site recognition at the construction of historical or monumental concrete structures.

The fib intends to review its vision

and strategy for the future in order to meet the current needs of engineers as well as the needs of society, and to ensure the completeness of activities within the *fib*.

If you join fib,

you can influence the future and become part of the fib family.

fib Past Presidents and fib Presidium Members fib Past Presidents

1998-2000	Michel Virlogeux (France)
2001-2002	Joost Walraven (the Netherlands)
2003-2004	Jim Forbes (Australia)
2005-2006	Giuseppe Mancini (Italy)
2007-2008	Hans Rudolf Ganz (Switzerland)
2009-2010	Michael Fardis (Greece)
2011-2012	György Balázs (Hungary)
2013-2014	Gordon Clark (U.K.)
2015-2016	Harald S. Müller (Germany)
2017-2018	Hugo Corres Peiretti (Spain)
2019-2020	Tor Ole Olsen (Norway)
2021-2022	Akio Kasuga (Japan)

fib Presidium 2023-2024

<i>fib</i> President		Stephen Foster (Austra	lia)
fib Deputy Presi	dent	Iria Doniak (Brazil)	
Immediate past I	President	Akio Kasuga (Japan)	

Elected member Agnieszka Bigaj-van Vliet (Netherlands)

Elected member Marco di Prisco (Italy) Elected member Larbi Sennour (USA)

Elected member Jean Michel Torrenti (France)

Dep Chair of TC
Dep Chair of TC
Co-Opted member
Co-Opted member
Co-Opted member
Steve Denton (UK)
Sylvia Kessler (Germany)

fib Secretary General David Fernández-Ordóñez (Spain) Honorary Treasurer Hans Rudolf Ganz (Switzerland)

Editor of SC Journal Luc Taerwe (Belgium)
COM9 Chair György L.Balázs (Hungary)
YMG Chair Marcelo Melo (Brazil)