

# fib Achievement Award for Young Engineers 2025

## Call for entries

14 May 2024

## fib Achievement Award for Young Engineers 2025

Entries are now being accepted for the *fib* Achievement Award for Young Engineers (AAYE) 2025. Since 2001, the AAYE has been awarded every two years at *fib* symposia. The award includes a €2'000 prize and an invitation to the *fib* symposium in Antibes, France, in June 2025, where the award will be presented during a special session. The award is given in two categories in the field of structural concrete: the *Research* category and the *Design & Construction* category. Entries will be judged by an international jury chaired by Prof Giovanni Plizzari from the University of Brescia in Italy.

## Candidate eligibility

- Candidates must have the written support (an email is sufficient) of the *fib* national delegation (i.e. *fib* delegate or deputy) for his/her country prior to submitting entry documents to the jury chairman and the *fib* secretariat. If candidates do not know whom to ask, they can contact the *fib* Secretariat for more information. The *fib* national delegations should keep in mind that the total number of candidates proposed per country, per category cannot exceed the number of votes the country has in the *fib* General Assembly. Accordingly, if the number of potential candidates from their country exceeds the number of votes, the delegation needs to select the candidates who will receive their support.
- Only candidates born in **1985 or later** are eligible for the 2025 award.
- Candidates in the *Research Category* must have completed their PhD.
- Only individual candidates are eligible; group candidates will not be accepted.

# **Entry Procedure**

Candidates endorsed by their country's national delegation must provide the following entry documents:

- Application form (available for download on the *fib* website);
- Curriculum vitae in English, including nationality;
- Full contact details, including phone number and e-mail address;
- Passport-type photo.

## Research Category candidates:

• Candidates are nominated on the basis of their PhD thesis. The candidate must submit an electronic copy of the original thesis plus a written summary in English of five to ten pages (even if the original is in English). This summary should include all relevant information to assess the technical level, importance and innovative quality of the thesis. The thesis must have been submitted to and accepted by the competent university authorities in the years 2020 to 2024. Research Category candidates should send their PhD certificate from the University.

## Design & Construction Category candidates:

• Candidates are nominated on the basis of a written report on practical design or execution work realized by the candidate. The report must be in English and should be approximately ten pages in length and include documentation such as photos, plans, etc. The report should also specify the level or responsibility of the candidate and, if applicable, include any relevant information on exceptional or innovative aspects of the work.

All entry documents must be received by 4 December 2024, in electronic form only to communications@fib-international.org.

If selected as a winner, the candidate must be able and willing to attend in the *fib* Symposium in Antibes 2025 (16-18 June) and to write a paper on their work that they will submit to *fib* journal *Structural Concrete* within two months after receiving the award.

The jury will choose the winner in each category and may additionally select one or two candidate(s) per category as runner-up ("special mention recipients").

The *fib* will invite the selected winner in each category to attend the *fib* symposium in Antibes 2025 to present and discuss their work during a special session. This invitation will include:

- the cost of an economy class travel ticket from the candidate's domicile to Antibes, France;
- the registration fees for the symposium; and
- a lump sum contribution of CHF500 to the candidate's accommodation expenses.

#### 2025 Jury Members

- Prof Giovanni Plizzari, University of Brescia, Italy, Jury Chair
- Prof Oguzhan Bayrak, University of Texas at Austin, USA
- Dr Agnieszka Bigaj-van Vliet, TNO Buildings, Infrastructures and Maritime, The Netherlands
- Ms Ysabel Guil-Celada, Arenas & Asociados, Spain
- Prof Giuseppe Mancini, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
- Prof Jean-Michel Torrenti, Université Gustave Eiffel, France
- Prof Aad van der Horst, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
- Dr Eline Vereecken, Belgium
- Prof Jan Vítek, Metrostav a. s., Czech Republic
- Prof Joost Walraven, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands